CVTC Sign inSite Map

Information about Councils and Corporations

Chickaloon Village Traditional Council (CVTC) is federally and internationally recognized as a Traditional sovereign government with a nine member traditional council that is the governing body for the Tribe, Chickaloon Native Village. CVTC’s purpose is to perpetuate their ancestors’ beliefs, customs, traditions, and values and steward the environment to help their citizens thrive. The Tribal government currently operates seven (7) departments to serve the needs of their Tribal citizens and another estimated 2,373 Alaska Native and Native American Peoples living in their service area, which mostly includes the communities of Glacier View, Chickaloon, Sutton, Palmer, and Butte along the Matanuska River. The traditional council meets at 9:00am on the third Wednesday of each month in the health/government building, located at Mile 61.5 on the Glenn Highway. Their website is www.chickaloon.org.


The community of Chickaloon’s boundaries extends along the Glenn Hwy from the Kings River at mile 65.5 to Puritan Creek at mile 89. The Chickaloon Community Council is an active advisory council of local residents, recognized by the Matanuska-Susitna Borough and the State of Alaska. It is responsible for creating an environment that is safe, healthy and provides a forum for the residents of Chickaloon to voice concerns and solutions about issues that affect their community. The residents of Chickaloon are interested in guiding development in their community that complements the rural character of the place they call home; to safeguard the watershed and natural areas that allow wildlife and human inhabitants to co-exist peacefully; and to promote and develop economic sustainability. The community council meets at 7:00pm on the second Wednesday of each month in the Chickaloon Community Center, located at Mile 76.2 on the Glenn Highway.


Chickaloon-Moose Creek Native Association (CMCNA) was officially incorporated on August 29, 1973. CMCNA was created under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) of 1971 and is a village corporation. CMCNA had forty-two (42) original shareholders, each having 100 shares of stock for a total of 4,200 shares. Due to death/inheritance and gifting of shares, there are now more than the original 42 shareholders, but the amount of stock remains the same. In order to be listed as one of the original 42 shareholders, you had to prove that you were at least 1/4 degree Alaska Native blood and came from Chickaloon Village as set forth in ANCSA. CMCNA has a seven (7) member Board of Directors and they meet several times a year. For more information, contact: Edith Baller, President & Chairperson, P.O. Box 875046, Wasilla, AK 99687-5046, Phone: 907-373-1145 Fax: 907-373-1142, Email: [email protected]



storeMain Check out our online store!
> Merchandise
> Curriculum

Make a Donation

> Click here to make a donation to your favorite Chickaloon Program

Newsletter Sign up
Just enter your email address below

Chickaloon Area Transit System

Chickaloon Area Transit System

You are here:Home About Information about Councils and Corporations